E.g., 01/30/2014
E.g., 01/30/2014
Wed, Aug 07, 2013
2:30 PM - 3:15 PM

A House Divided: Divergent Views in Congress Over Immigration Reform - A Video Chat

Read 
Side-by-Side Comparison of 2013 Senate Immigration Bill with Individual 2013 House Bills

For any questions, please email communications@migrationpolicy.org 

When:

Wednesday, August 7, 2013
2:30 PM ET; 1:30 PM CT; 12:30 PM MT; 11:30 AM PT

Speakers:

Doris Meissner, Senior Fellow and Director, U.S. Immigration Policy Program, MPI

Muzaffar Chishti, Director, MPI Office at NYU School of Law



Senate passage of comprehensive immigration reform legislation in June stands as a major accomplishment on the road to restructuring the U.S. immigration system. At this mid-point in the legislative debate, House committees have passed five separate bills, but are still grappling with key elements of the Senate plan, especially legalization for the nation’s estimated 11 million unauthorized immigrants. The big question surrounding the debate remains whether compromises that reconcile the approaches by both chambers can be found to produce legislation that improves the U.S. immigration system.  

Please join us on Wednesday, August 7, for a video chat, shortly after the Migration Policy Institute releases an analysis that compares the major provisions of the Senate bill against those of the individual House bills considered to date in House committees. This online discussion with Doris Meissner and Muzaffar Chishti will outline the differing policies crafted by the House and Senate, their likely implications for the U.S. immigration system, and a look ahead to where the debate might be headed when Congress returns from its summer recess. 

For more information, call +1-202-266-1929 or email events@migrationpolicy.org.



The registration deadline for this event has passed.