E.g., 01/30/2014
E.g., 01/30/2014
Wed, Sep 18, 2013
9:30 AM - 10:15 AM

A Discussion in Preparation for October’s High-Level Dialogue on International Migration and Development: What Can We Expect?

  Listen to audio of the call    |  Read related brief 

Date:

Wednesday, September 18, 2013                                                                
9:30 to 10:15 A.M. EDT (45-minute call)
9:30 AM EDT; 1:30 PM GMT; 2:30 PM WEST/WAT; 3:30 PM CEST/CAT; 4:30 PM EEST/EAT/AST; 5:30 PM GST/MSK; 9:30 PM CST


Location:

Listen to the audio from the call here.


Speakers:

H.E. Eva Åkerman Börje, Ambassador, Secretariat for the Swedish Chairmanship of the Global Forum on Migration and Development, 2013-14 

Gregory A. Maniatis, MPI Senior European Policy Fellow; Special Advisor to Peter Sutherland, UN Special Representative for International Migration 

Kathleen Newland, Director, MPI’s Migrants, Migration, and Development Program


 Tweet your questions in advance to #MPIHLDcall or email communications@migrationpolicy.org

In October the UN High-Level Dialogue on Migration and Development will offer a rare opportunity for governments to open a new chapter of cooperative policy making on a force – international migration – that is fundamental to both human and national development.   

Only once before in its history has the United Nations General Assembly held a meeting dedicated to international migration. The High-Level Dialogue of 2006 led to the creation of an important new international forum, the Global Forum on Migration and Development, which has met every year since 2007, with the participation of more than 150 national governments. What will be the outcome of this year’s High-Level Dialogue? Could it lead to commitments from states that result in greater gains from international migration while reducing some of its costs? 

Join MPI for a conversation on what we can expect from the High-Level Dialogue: what the major topics of debate will be, what policy areas are ripe for action, and what impact the High-Level Dialogue may have on the Global Forum on Migration and Development and the post-2015 development agenda.

For more information call +1-202-266-1929 or email events@migrationpolicy.org.

                                                                                                   

                                   






The registration deadline for this event has passed.